We Want Insanity
My Son Lucas
Facebook
Twitter
JG's 7/14/03 Raw Insanity: Kane Isn't Burned, But J.R. Is
TGIF: Japanese Garden Party of Honor, Rib JR's Rib, and More
The ROHbot Report: Nashville Return, Top Contenders 6-Man Gauntlet, And More
(32 Mins) Honor Nation: Forgiving Hogan


Black Panther: A Review

By Rafael Perez (Strange Planet NYC) Feb 22, 2018 - 4:45 PM print





I was anticipating Black Panther for months and with all the hype surrounding the anticipated release of this film, I was concerned I was going to walk away disappointed. I was worried the film would not meet my expectations.

I finally saw it on Sunday. And I was right. Black Panther did not meet my expectations.

Black_Panther_-_Captain_America_Civil_War.png
Black Panther went beyond my expectations.

As of this writing I have seen it only once, but it is my intention to go see it again. This film had all the anticipation and excitement that has become a brand in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. With its early beginnings with Iron Man back in 2008, ten years have passed and this incredible series is only beginning. Black Panther has an identity of its own and I’m so glad for it. Of course it has its two post credit scenes which point to what will happen later with the arrival of Infinity War in May, but I’m glad it did not harp too much on the other heroes of Marvel. It was focused. It was tight.

Starring Chadwick Boseman as Black Panther, the film takes off from where Civil War left us….grieving the loss of his father. It is now up to him to claim the throne of Wakanda and begin a new kind of living in this incredible place where almost no one in the world knew about. It is a film not just about the superhero element as it applies and connects to the other films….it is a film about breaking down barriers. It presents the challenge to reach out and escape isolationism. It displays a harmonious presentation of culture and technology that to this day I have not seen in pretty much any other film. People are talking about the celebration of African Culture in this movie….and yet it portrays the grim realities of our actual world as shown in our antagonist Erik Killmonger. The film offers solutions in the face of adversity from both outside Wakanda and within. It not only offers it to those of the African continent, but it offers it to myself as well. I’m Puerto Rican. I’m not very well versed in my culture…my wife has taught me much about it and my gratitude is infinite for that…and yet I connected with the people of Wakanda. I understood for two hours their position in the world, why they do what they do, and how they will move forward in this Cinematic Universe Marvel has made.

I was moved by the celebration of not only the cultural aspect of it, but how it gelled so beautifully into the same world as our heroes in the other films. We know where this is going. Thanos will be making his arrival on planet Earth in May. Our Avengers will be there to face him. Black Panther will be there too

The acting was amazing. A star studded cast of new and classic actors graced this film and delivered. Lupita Nyong (12 Yeas a Slave, Star Wars The Force Awakens), Forest Whitaker (Roots, Star Wars Rogue One), Angela Bassett (What’s Love Got to Do With It, American Horror Story), Danai Gurira (The Walking Dead), Andy Serkis (Lord of the Rings, War For The Planet of The Apes), Sterling K. Brown (This Is Us), Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out). I can keep going I suppose, but this ton of credentials make for and have contributed to this now classic. That’s right. I’m calling this film a classic before its time.

Go see this film. See it twice. Buy it on Blu Ray or get the digital copy when it is released. Whatever format you choose to own it, own it. Black Panther has paved the way to Infinity War, and the promises made at the film’s end stretches out as a promise for all of us. We all can claim a better life. Black Panther shows that in its humanity, and the special effects are stellar too. I just wanted to add that one detail in.


Check out more from Rafael at Wide Range Media Productions and on Youtube at Youtube.com/c/StrangePlanetNYC



blog comments powered by Disqus

JG col

My Son Lucas
JG's Facebook Insanity: Let's Infuriate Your Friends
(33 Minutes) James Guttman's Free 2009 Interview With Mr. Fuji
JG's 10/19/15 Raw Insanity: Hell of a Sell
JG's 10/5/15 Raw Insanity: Flashing The Brock Signal
JG's Insanity: The 12th Annual WWE Memorial Day Barbecue
JG's Insanity: The 11th Annual WWE Memorial Day Barbecue
JG's Ten Facebook Posts To Annoy Your Friends
JG's Ten Beloved TV Characters Who Were Obvious Psychopaths
JG's 10 More Fun Ways To Infuriate People Online
JG's Ten Insider Wrestling Terms You Shouldn't Use When Talking About Something Besides Wrestling
JG's Insanity: The 10th Annual WWE Memorial Day Barbecue
JG's Ten Demented Ways We Misused Our Toys
JG's 15 Fun Ways To Infuriate People Online
JG's Ten Sesame Street Muppets That Are Missing And Presumed Dead
JG's Scene From WWE Raw (After Vince McMahon Goes Senile)
JG's Ten Signs You Were A Wrestling Fan Of The 1980s
JG's Insanity: Stone Cold's Greatest Moments (Without Stone Cold)
JG's Ten Wrestling Moves That Really Hurt When You Try Them At Home
JG's Insanity: Everybody Is Tito Santana
JG's Ten Reasons Why WWF LJN Figures Were The Greatest Toys Ever
JG's Ten Judges Who Would Make American Idol Worth Watching
JG's 2012 in Pictures (As Hulk Hogan Will Remember It)
JG's Quintuple Bypass Surgery Insanity
JG's Five Episodes of Diff'rent Strokes That Scarred Me For Life
JG's Ten Facebook Posts That Are Slowly Driving Me Crazy
JG's Ten Truly Terrible Reality Competition Shows
JG's Ten 1980s TV Characters Who Taught Me To Hate
JG's Ten Wrestling Characters Who Went Through Massive Personality Changes
JG's Ten Old School Wrestlers Who Would Terrorize Today's PG WWE

The ROHbot Report: Nashville Return, Top Contenders 6-Man Gauntlet, And More
The Challenge: Final Reckoning - Episode 1
TGIF: Japanese Garden Party of Honor, Rib JR's Rib, and More
The ROHbot Report: Bully-Burger Steal the Show, NWA Title in ROH, And More
Anime Verdict: Street Fighter 2 The Animated Movie
TGIF: Hug Therapy, Down Goes Dalton, and More
The ROHbot Report: Best in the World Review, Fairfax TV Tapings, And More
TGIF: Dog Bites Artist, All Them, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Finale & Reunion
The ROHbot Report: Best in the World '18, TV Classic Main Event, And More
TGIF: Cass'd Away, DIY Does It Again, and More
The ROHbot Report: State of the Art Reviews, ROH International Cup, And More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 9
TGIF: The Greatest Professional Wrestling Match Of All Time
The ROHbot Report: San Antonio/Dallas Previews, Bullies Dominate, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 8
TGIF: CM Punk Gets One More WWE Victory, Constable Corbin, and More
The ROHbot Report: Austin Aries Goes For The Gold, NY TV Results, And More
Solo: A Star Wars Story Review
TGIF: You Can't Teach Rap, NBC's World Wrestling Embarrassed, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 7
The ROHbot Report: UK Tour Reviews, TV Recap, And More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars - Episode 6
TGIF:The Lashley Girls Kill RAW, Merging Impact, and More
The ROHbot Report: Honor United Previews, ROH TV Episode 348, And More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 5
TGIF: Nia Gets Rowdy, All In All Sold Out, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 4
The ROHbot Report: War of the Worlds Reviews, Chicago TV Taping Preview, And More
TGIF: Pop Goes The Charlotte, Johnny Survivor, and More


-

Solo: A Star Wars Story Review
Jun 3, 2018
The Review - Avengers: Infinity War
May 1, 2018
A Quiet Place: Hardly Horror
Apr 14, 2018
Halloween 2018: What To Expect
Mar 27, 2018
Star Wars Rebels: A Review
Mar 6, 2018
Black Panther: A Review
Feb 22, 2018
Star Wars The Last Jedi: Moving On
Feb 15, 2018
Could Anthony Joshua make it in the WWE?
Dec 4, 2017
Boxers in McMahon’s Crosshairs for 2018
Sep 28, 2017
WWE & WCW – Four Historical Defectors Rated
Aug 30, 2017
What Is Fantasy Slam Pro Wrestling Fantasy Camp?
Jun 27, 2017
(Free 40 Min Audio) Less Than 30: Gotham!
Aug 13, 2014
Meet Stevie Richards and Support a Great Cause: Happy Meower Fundraiser for BARCS
Apr 13, 2014
Rebooking The Royal Rumble: An Illustrated Look At What Should Have Been
Feb 2, 2014
The Elite Eight: WWE's NXT Big Things
Jan 15, 2014
Why Roman Reigns Should Break Undertaker's WrestleMania Streak (and Why He Shouldn't)
Dec 26, 2013
(Free 165 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Games of the Generation Continued
Nov 21, 2013
(Free 135 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Games of the Generation - Segment 2
Nov 5, 2013
(Free 135 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Games of the Generation - Segment 1
Oct 28, 2013
(Free 100 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Dragon's Crown and Guilty Pleasures
Aug 11, 2013

Even More From This Category >>
ClubWWI.com Contact Us Forums
All content contained here Copyright - We Want Insanity Dot Com