We Want Insanity
My Son Lucas
Facebook
Twitter
JG's 7/21/08 Raw Insanity: John Cena Accidentally Punches Batista On Purpose
TGIF: A New Day For Hulk, MLW's Major League Potential, and More
The ROHbot Report: Nashville Return, Top Contenders 6-Man Gauntlet, And More
(32 Mins) Honor Nation: Forgiving Hogan


Solo: A Star Wars Story Review

By Rafael Perez (Strange Planet NYC) Jun 3, 2018 - 8:02 AM print




The task of a Star Wars fan has become a more taxing one.

I went to see Solo A Star Wars Story and in truth I absolutely loved it. It wasn’t a great movie. It wasn’t a Star Wars Movie the way the trilogies are….but it’s a Star Wars movie. It was a good Star Wars movie. It was also a movie us Star Wars fans did not ask for.

This is the second of what are being called ‘anthology’ films as it relates to the Star Wars universe. Rogue One, released in 2016, was the first. Solo is the second. With announcements of a Boba Fett film and an Obi Wan Kenobi film in the works with Disney and Lucasfilm, theres no telling how far we as fans are willing to go to see these films. I believe Rogue One showed us that it is possible to have Star Wars films that are side stories to the main trilogies. However, based on box office numbers for Solo’s opening weekend, it’s not looking good.

Grossing around 110 million by this past Tuesday, not to mention a total of 192 million worldwide, it is the lowest Star Wars film weekend opening number. Is there something happening here? Is Star Wars loosing its edge? It’s fan base? Many of us were disappointed with The Last Jedi this past December. How can we move past that? Are the low numbers for Solo a silent protest against Disney by Star Wars fans because of what happened this past December? Rian Johnson is still on the hot seat about that movie. He took a risk a lot of us did not think it was worth taking, not at the expense of story and characters. Solo was a fun ride. Solo was a story that reminded me why I am still a fan. Taking place about 10 years before the events of Rogue One and A New Hope, we find a young Han and his girlfriend Kira ( played by Emilia Clarke), trying to get off Corellia so they could seek their care free lives together…the ambition of any young couple. Separated in a chase, Han (played by Alden Ehrenreich) spends the next three years trying to find his love again, only to get mixed up in a heist orchestrated by Beckett ( played by Woody Harrelson). Reunited with Kira, they all go on a mission to steal some stuff for this crime lord Draden Vos ( played by Paul Bettany). In the midst of this film we see how Han meet’s his best friend Chewbacca, and his other buddy Lando Calrissian (played by Donald Glover).We see the Millennium Falcon and how Han wins her from Lando’s ownership and we also meet the sassy droid L-3. Ron Howard as the director in my opinion knocked it out of the park.

In spite of the low numbers, Solo A Star Wars Story satisfied my sci fi palate for the rest of the years as far as I’m concerned. It introduced new characters, brought back old concepts, and even old SURPRISES (which I won’t spoil for you here….you’re gonna need to just go see it…). By the way, those golden dice we saw in the Last Jedi? Those dice were all over this film as a call back to Episode 8. I’m going to watch the original trilogy to see if I see that dice hanging in the cockpit of the Millennium Falcon. I want to see how detailed Disney is really getting. Go watch Solo.You’ll have fun.


Check out more from Rafael at Wide Range Media Productions and on Youtube at Youtube.com/c/StrangePlanetNYC




blog comments powered by Disqus

JG col

My Son Lucas
JG's Facebook Insanity: Let's Infuriate Your Friends
(33 Minutes) James Guttman's Free 2009 Interview With Mr. Fuji
JG's 10/19/15 Raw Insanity: Hell of a Sell
JG's 10/5/15 Raw Insanity: Flashing The Brock Signal
JG's Insanity: The 12th Annual WWE Memorial Day Barbecue
JG's Insanity: The 11th Annual WWE Memorial Day Barbecue
JG's Ten Facebook Posts To Annoy Your Friends
JG's Ten Beloved TV Characters Who Were Obvious Psychopaths
JG's 10 More Fun Ways To Infuriate People Online
JG's Ten Insider Wrestling Terms You Shouldn't Use When Talking About Something Besides Wrestling
JG's Insanity: The 10th Annual WWE Memorial Day Barbecue
JG's Ten Demented Ways We Misused Our Toys
JG's 15 Fun Ways To Infuriate People Online
JG's Ten Sesame Street Muppets That Are Missing And Presumed Dead
JG's Scene From WWE Raw (After Vince McMahon Goes Senile)
JG's Ten Signs You Were A Wrestling Fan Of The 1980s
JG's Insanity: Stone Cold's Greatest Moments (Without Stone Cold)
JG's Ten Wrestling Moves That Really Hurt When You Try Them At Home
JG's Insanity: Everybody Is Tito Santana
JG's Ten Reasons Why WWF LJN Figures Were The Greatest Toys Ever
JG's Ten Judges Who Would Make American Idol Worth Watching
JG's 2012 in Pictures (As Hulk Hogan Will Remember It)
JG's Quintuple Bypass Surgery Insanity
JG's Five Episodes of Diff'rent Strokes That Scarred Me For Life
JG's Ten Facebook Posts That Are Slowly Driving Me Crazy
JG's Ten Truly Terrible Reality Competition Shows
JG's Ten 1980s TV Characters Who Taught Me To Hate
JG's Ten Wrestling Characters Who Went Through Massive Personality Changes
JG's Ten Old School Wrestlers Who Would Terrorize Today's PG WWE

The Challenge: Final Reckoning - Episode 2
TGIF: A New Day For Hulk, MLW's Major League Potential, and More
The ROHbot Report: Nashville Return, Top Contenders 6-Man Gauntlet, And More
The Challenge: Final Reckoning - Episode 1
TGIF: Japanese Garden Party of Honor, Rib JR's Rib, and More
The ROHbot Report: Bully-Burger Steal the Show, NWA Title in ROH, And More
Anime Verdict: Street Fighter 2 The Animated Movie
TGIF: Hug Therapy, Down Goes Dalton, and More
The ROHbot Report: Best in the World Review, Fairfax TV Tapings, And More
TGIF: Dog Bites Artist, All Them, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Finale & Reunion
The ROHbot Report: Best in the World '18, TV Classic Main Event, And More
TGIF: Cass'd Away, DIY Does It Again, and More
The ROHbot Report: State of the Art Reviews, ROH International Cup, And More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 9
TGIF: The Greatest Professional Wrestling Match Of All Time
The ROHbot Report: San Antonio/Dallas Previews, Bullies Dominate, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 8
TGIF: CM Punk Gets One More WWE Victory, Constable Corbin, and More
The ROHbot Report: Austin Aries Goes For The Gold, NY TV Results, And More
Solo: A Star Wars Story Review
TGIF: You Can't Teach Rap, NBC's World Wrestling Embarrassed, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 7
The ROHbot Report: UK Tour Reviews, TV Recap, And More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars - Episode 6
TGIF:The Lashley Girls Kill RAW, Merging Impact, and More
The ROHbot Report: Honor United Previews, ROH TV Episode 348, And More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 5
TGIF: Nia Gets Rowdy, All In All Sold Out, and More
The Challenge: Champs vs. Stars 3 - Episode 4


-

Solo: A Star Wars Story Review
Jun 3, 2018
The Review - Avengers: Infinity War
May 1, 2018
A Quiet Place: Hardly Horror
Apr 14, 2018
Halloween 2018: What To Expect
Mar 27, 2018
Star Wars Rebels: A Review
Mar 6, 2018
Black Panther: A Review
Feb 22, 2018
Star Wars The Last Jedi: Moving On
Feb 15, 2018
Could Anthony Joshua make it in the WWE?
Dec 4, 2017
Boxers in McMahon’s Crosshairs for 2018
Sep 28, 2017
WWE & WCW – Four Historical Defectors Rated
Aug 30, 2017
What Is Fantasy Slam Pro Wrestling Fantasy Camp?
Jun 27, 2017
(Free 40 Min Audio) Less Than 30: Gotham!
Aug 13, 2014
Meet Stevie Richards and Support a Great Cause: Happy Meower Fundraiser for BARCS
Apr 13, 2014
Rebooking The Royal Rumble: An Illustrated Look At What Should Have Been
Feb 2, 2014
The Elite Eight: WWE's NXT Big Things
Jan 15, 2014
Why Roman Reigns Should Break Undertaker's WrestleMania Streak (and Why He Shouldn't)
Dec 26, 2013
(Free 165 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Games of the Generation Continued
Nov 21, 2013
(Free 135 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Games of the Generation - Segment 2
Nov 5, 2013
(Free 135 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Games of the Generation - Segment 1
Oct 28, 2013
(Free 100 Minute Audio) VSN Arcade Podcast: Dragon's Crown and Guilty Pleasures
Aug 11, 2013

Even More From This Category >>
ClubWWI.com Contact Us Forums
All content contained here Copyright - We Want Insanity Dot Com